Owner Interview: Obiewon777

The franchise that currently calls themselves the Anaheim Stars has been under the management of GM obiewon777 for 36 of FYC’s 38 seasons (he took a two season hiatus for S24 & S25). In those 36 seasons, he has amassed a .506 winning percentage to go along with 8 division titles and 1 championship. After a long break from the blog, I thought that his interview would be a good way to get back into it. Here’s a look into the life of FYC’s third-longest tenured member:

1. Who is obiewon777 in real life?

Once you know the name you will understand my username of Obiewon and no I am not a major Star Wars fan. My Name is Norman O’Brien and my nickname growing up was OBie…I think because my last name has two capital letters in it. So the name Obiewon is for OBie-won. Like in I won the game….

2. Where do you live and/or where have you previously lived?
I live in Texas and work in Dallas I was transferred here 5 yrs ago from Southern California where for 30yrs I followed the Angels and Dodgers. That is why all the teams I get are in the AL West so I can have those stadiums.

3. Who are your favorite all-time baseball players?

I grew up in Detroit Michigan so my favorite players were on the Tigers. I think Al Kaline and Norm Cash would be my favorites.
4. Do you have any sports-related items on your bucket list

I am 65 yrs old and the only thing I would like to see is the Dodgers and Angels play in a WS.

5. What is your favorite WIS moment? Least favorite? 

The favorite is winning the WS in this game but there was one year where I was the wild card team and beat out all teams after being behind in the series. The WS was won by the same way that was with the LA Dodgers team.

The least favorite was one season that I had so many starting pitchers hurt during the year I could not field 5 good ones that was a season to forget.

6. Do you have any favorite players from any of your HBD teams?

In 7Yankees7 I have a team for 8 seasons the Atlanta Stars and had a starting pitcher names David Ryal. He left after 8 seasons and got the max contract and went on to win 347 games, 12 All Star selections, 9 Cy Youngs. He had a lifetime 2.62 ERA and won 30 game 3 times. While with me he had 7 seasons of 20+ wins with 28 as a high, and was the ROY the first season I brought him up. He was a rated 100 overall only one I have ever seen.

7. Why did you choose the city and/or park that you did?

I pick the parks and change based on need the Dodgers park is a great pitchers park while the Angels is more even to both but I usually only play in those parks so I can have one of my favorite teams.

Leave a Reply

