Season 36

After looking at who I would nominate for the final ballot, I will use the same criteria to evaluate the actual nominees. As a reminder, position players currently have a Gold Ink Test standard of 15 awards, while the hurlers standard is 12. Once you have made your selections, please comment on the HOF voting page indicating who you’ve supported so that we can pool some votes and elect as many players as possible. In two seasons under the new HOF format, we have elected 7 players out of a maximum of 10.

Kirk Cohen, C…10 of 15

Career Awards:

  • 4 All Star
  • 2 Gold Gloves
  • 3 Silver Sluggers
  • 1 World Series Ring

Cohen was quite the catcher back in the day, and has gotten plenty of love in the past. His high water mark was 12 votes back in S30 but I certainly would not be upset if he got that sort of support or more this season. There are three guys that will get “milestone” votes from me, but I could see myself sending one of the other two votes his way.

Ray Cook, CF…5 of 15

Career Awards:

  • 3 All Star
  • 2 Silver Sluggers

His numbers are certainly respectable, but between the three milestone votes and the competition he is up against on this ballot I’d be surprised if he gets a vote. Historically, he’s done no better than just that: a single vote, and that came back in S32.

Neifi Cordero, LF…11 of 15

Career Awards:

  • 5 All Star
  • 4 Gold Gloves
  • 2 Silver Slugger

My hope is that “Mr. Stolen Base” as I called him last year will finally get his day in the sun. He & Cohen are two of three players on the ballot who have had enough votes in a prior season to justify making an effort to get them into the Hall. Cordero also topped out at 12 votes in S30, and at this point my ballot is shaping up to be Cohen, Cordero & the three guys with milestone achievements.

Vladimir Espinosa, 1B…3 of 15

Career Awards:

  • 2 Gold Gloves
  • 1 World Series Ring

“He’s pretty far down the ladder right now.” → That was my evaluation of his chances last year. This year that’s an understatement.

Rich Garcia, C…2 of 15

Career Awards:

  • 1 All Star
  • 1 Silver Slugger

[ “If I were to make an MLB comparison, it would be Jason Varitek. That guy was an absolute workhorse, and is one of my favorite players ever, but when it comes down to it, I’m not sure he’s going to be immortalized in Cooperstown. I’d say the same thing is probably true about Garcia.” → Why is it that every time I’ve read this since I originally wrote it I immediately think of the fight between Tek & A-Rod in ‘04?”….damn it. Now I’m making myself think about that fight. Not that it’s a bad memory as a Sox fan. I still chuckle when I think of Pedro throwing old Zimm to the ground. ] → deja vu. I kinda want Garcia to get elected just because he did seem to have such a comparable career to #33, but the numbers simply don’t justify it…Every time I revisit my evaluation of this guy I experience that sense of deja vu I mentioned and I’m not mad about it. That’s a great moment in Boston sports history.

Juan Jimenez, RF…1 of 15    

Career Awards:

  • 1 Cycle

[This guy brings back some memories as he was the first power bat that I owned here in FYC. Despite his nice balance of power and speed (454 HR, 231 SB) he doesn’t make the cut as worthy of being in virtual Cooperstown.] → All true a season later. It’s guys like this that make me question how nominations occur.

Del Park, LF…1 of 15

Career Awards:

  • 1 Silver Slugger

“I’m not really sure why the AI nominated this guy other than his 500 HR’s…not that 500 HR’s is an easy accomplishment, but I don’t think that should get guys elected on its own either.” → What was I just saying about how nominations happen?

Sticky Perkins, 1B…1 of 15

Career Awards:

  • 1 Silver Slugger

[ “This guy was a great lead-off hitter for the Wichita organization for a long time in the years before I took the reigns, but HOF quality? I’m not convinced.”] → I’m noticing a trend. Anyone else?

Michael Martin, C…12 of 15

Career Awards:

  • 9 All Star
  • 3 Silver Slugger

“He has done well on the Gold-Ink Standard, which counts for something, but there are easily five guys I’d vote into the Hall before him.” → True for a second year in a row, but this guy getting in eventually would not upset me.

Cooper Martin, 1B…8 of 15

Career Awards:

  • 1 Rookie of the Year
  • 2 All Star
  • 2 Silver Slugger
  • 1 Gold Glove
  • 1 World Series Ring
  • 1 Cycle

I nominated Martin due to his performance on the Gold Ink Test, but he’s not going to get my vote at his level. Sorry, Cooper.

Alex Santana, RF…13 of 15

Career Awards:

  • 7 All Star
  • 1 Gold Glove
  • 3 Silver Slugger
  • 1 World Series Ring
  • 1 All-Star MVP

Santana has posted the best performance on the G.I.T. so far, but I’m not sure how many votes he’ll get this season due to the glut of talent at the top of the ballot. Personally, I think last year was his best shot at immortalization.

Aramis Santiago, SS…18 of 15

Career Awards:

  • 8 All Star
  • 10 Gold Glove

I’ve been on Team Santiago for quite sometime due to my bias towards defensive wizards, and yet he won’t be getting my vote this season. But I still think we need to get him in one of these years.

Dean Scutaro, DH…6 of 15  

Career Awards:

  • 3 All Star
  • 3 Silver Slugger

He is in my mind the one shoo-in for the Hall this season. He’s a member of the 700 HR club AND the 3,000 hit club to go along with 2,268 career RBI and a .297 career batting average. He’s currently 4th in all-time HR, 3rd in hits and 2nd in RBI. Shame on us if he’s not a 1st-ballot HOFer. Meet my first milestone vote.

Hootie Sobkowiak, 1B…4 of 15

Career Awards:

  • 2 All Star
  • 1 Gold Glove
  • 1 Silver Slugger  

“I think Hootie’s best shot at the Hall is getting a name HOF going…as of now he and Dick Cox would be the inaugural class. Other nominations are welcomed.” → The only thing that I’d add to this assessment is that Sun Bong also deserves a place in that particular HOF.

Mike Walcutt, LF…13 of 15

Career Awards:

  • 6 All-Star
  • 2 Silver Slugger
  • 3 World Series Rings
  • 2 Cycles

This is Walcutt’s first season on the ballot. He is, in my mind, a future HOFer but I’m going to guess that it won’t happen this season.

Chance Ward, C…2 of 15

Career Awards:

  • 2 All Star

“I’m not opposed to voting for this guy, I just don’t see anything to convince me he is HOF worthy.” → At this point it would take a lot to get this guy in.

Jolbert Alicea, RP…4 of 12

Career Awards:

  • 4 All Star

“Looking at his numbers, the only thing that would possibly get him elected to the HOF would be his 218 saves. However, with the all-time leaders in this world around 500, I don’t see how even that would do the trick. I have to admit, I’m a little confused as to why he was nominated.” → Also true this season. He didn’t get any votes last year in his first season on the ballot.

Jordan Coles, SP…3 of 12

Career Awards:

  • 1 All Star
  • 1 Gold Glove
  • 1 Fireman of the Year

Coles has the advantage of having been versatile enough to both start and work out of the bullpen at various times in his career, although he did not put up Larry Charleston type production (or anywhere close) so ultimately I think the Hall is a pipe dream for him in his first season on the ballot.

Harry Concepcion, SP…2 of 12

Career Awards:

  • 1 All Star
  • 1 World Series Ring

The only thing that would give him a sniff of the Hall is the 2,185 career K’s. Other than that his numbers were pretty pedestrian and he didn’t have a ton of awards either.

Hal Engle, SP…5 of 12

Career Awards:

  • 5 All Star

“In my evaluation of him last year, I pointed out his ERA and strikeout total as areas of strength. However, without overwhelming awards totals I don’t see him headed to Cooperstown.” → That was my take in the evaluation of the ballot nominees. He’s 4th in the HOF nominee class in ERA and 3rd in K’s, but it still likely won’t be enough.

Kevin Holdridge, SP…6 of 12

Career Awards:

  • 4 All Star
  • 1 Silver Slugger
  • 1 No Hitter

“Holdridge will make the ballot (he’s been previously nominated) but the competition is a little too steep this time around.” → That was my take from the first blog post from this year, and it holds true now that the final ballot has been announced.

Carlos Lugo, SP…11 of 12

Career Awards:

  • 8 All Star
  • 1 Cy Young
  • 2 World Series

[Lugo is the second guy to get a “milestone” vote from me. He was just ten wins short of the top five all time and is also a member of the 3,000 strikeout club. In addition to those accomplishments, he ended his playing days with a 3.34 ERA over 3,738 ⅔ innings.] → That was my evaluation a few days ago, and I’m sticking with it as well. He also has posted the best Gold Ink performance of pitcher so far this year (91.66%).

Neifi Mercado, SP…5 of 12

Career Awards:

  • 3 All Star
  • 1 Silver Slugger
  • 1 World Series Ring

Mercado is another one of those guys who deserves some recognition for what he was able to accomplish, but not HOF recognition. His win and strikeout totals (229 and 2856 respectively) are probably HOF worthy, but not good enough to get him in by themselves.

Hi Patterson, RP…9 of 12

Career Awards:

  • 8 All Star
  • 1 Fireman of the Year

“Patterson could, and in my opinion should, be the first RP into the FYC HOF because he is #2 in career saves and is just 0.08 behind 5th all-time in ERA and could jump into the top five in that category as all five of the players in the top-5 of ERA are active.” → This was my assessment of his candidacy when looking at who might make the ballot. Even though he’s a first-timer on the ballot, I think he should get in.

Bey Perkins, RP…9 of 12

Career Awards:

  • 8 All Star
  • 1 Fireman of the Year

Perkins has been upstaged by Patterson’s presence on the ballot. I would have strongly considered throwing a vote his way last season if I had had a say, but since he and Patterson have identical awards resumes and Patterson’s stats are better we should prioritize Patterson over Perkins for now.

Howard Ramsey, RP…8 of 12

Career Awards:

  • 4 All Star
  • 3 Fireman of the Year
  • 1 World Series Ring

“Ramsey’s 447 saves are near the top of the table all-time, and he too should eventually make it in, but I’d vote Perkins over Ramsey if I had to choose between relievers this season.” → That was my take last season, and I’d still put Perkins in front of Ramsey, which puts Ramsey 3rd in line for relievers. Ultimately, that means he won’t be HOF-bound this season.

Trey Wood, SP…5 of 12

Career Awards:

  • 3 All Star
  • 1 Gold Glove
  • 1 World Series Ring

Numbers are certainly good enough to warrant a nomination, but I don’t see any numbers that would put him into the top 2-3 pitching candidates this season.

Top 5 Position Players via Gold Ink Test Top 5 Pitchers via Gold Ink Test
Aramis Santiago-18 Carlos Lugo-11 (92%)
Alex Santana & Mike Walcutt-13 (87%) Bey Perkins & Hi Patterson-9 (75%)
Michael Martin-12 (80%) Howard Ramsey-8 (66%)
Neifi Cordero-11 (73%) Kevin Holdridge-6 (50%)
Kirk Cohen-10 (66%) Trey Wood, Neifi Mercado & Hal Engle-5 (42%)

My Ballot: Scutaro (Milestone), Lugo (Milestone/GIT), Patterson (Milestone/GIT), Cordero (Milestone/GIT), Cohen (GIT/Defense)

Guys Who Deserve the HOF eventually: Santiago, Santana, Walcutt

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

