Owner Interview – victorzhao

Due up 3rd in our lineup of Owner Interviews is one of our three first-year owners, victorzhao. His Scranton Bidens have made the playoffs for the first time since S21 by way of the franchise’s first division title since S16. Let’s take a few minutes to learn a little more about Victor:

 

  1. Who is victorzhao in real life?

I’m Victor Zhao, an attorney for the US Department of Justice in my late 30s. I am proud and privileged to represent the interests of Americans in my day to day work life.

 

  1. Where do you live and/or where have you previously lived?

I live with my wife and daughter in northern Virginia. I was born in Shanghai, and came to Houston, Texas when I was nine. I obtained my US Citizenship via a pathway to citizenship in 1999. I’ve also lived in Durham and Chicago, where I spent time in college and law school, respectively.

 

  1. Who are your favorite all-time baseball players?

All of my favorites played for the Houston Astros – my favorite team from when I fell in love with baseball to this day. I prefer the underdogs and the players who contributed away from the limelight – so my favorite is Tony Eusebio, a longtime backup catcher who had a great opposite field stroke and compiled a 24 game hitting streak in 2006.

 

  1. Do you have any sports-related items on your bucket list that you have not yet done?

I’ve been fortunate to have done many incredible sports things in my life. But if I ever get the opportunity, I would like to play a round at Pebble Beach.

 

  1. What is your favorite WIS moment? Least favorite?

My favorite is probably similar to many of the owners who have won a WS – my first. I beat my good friend in real life shucky in the WS of season 17 of Riley, avenging a 4-1 beatdown by shucky in the prior season’s WS. My least favorite was in season 11 of Riley, when I advanced to the LCS for the first time and pushed to series to a game 7 against an owner I had criticized on the boards for building through tanking. I set my alarm clock for 3AM to wake up and check the results of game 7, and I think I lost 15-1 (or something similar).

 

  1. Do you have any favorite players from any of your HBD teams?

Of course! I use the names of one of my favorite players as a base for most of my passwords nowadays – so I won’t tell you who that player is given that this is a public blog! I enjoyed watching Michael Vina. I acquired him in a trade prior to his ML debut, and he recorded over 200 wins with a sub 3.50 ERA in 13 seasons with my team and most importantly, he went 5-0 with a 1.47 ERA in the postseason to carry me to my first WS win.

 

  1. Why did you choose the city and/or park that you did?

I chose Scranton because I wanted to pay tribute to our Vice President (my team in Riley is called the Obamas). And Scranton was a natural fit because that’s where Joe was from!

Leave a Reply

