Owner Interview – mgcpro

After putting out the polls a couple weeks ago to see what sort of questions the FYC community would like to see in Owner Interviews, I have spent some time finalizing that list. I have also begun putting together a list of owners to participate in this interview series. Chris suggested that we start with the original owners, so I contacted them awhile ago and both Rob [Toledo] and Ben [Boston] have agreed. Here’s Rob’s interview to start us off:

 

  1. Who is mgccpro in real life?

Rob Karnes, 47. PGA Head Professional at the Dayton Country Club in Dayton, Ohio…and baseball junkie. If I had the time to devote to it, I would have 20 HBD teams. I also play Scoresheet fantasy baseball with a couple guys I met through HBD.

 

  1. Where do you live and/or where have you previously lived?

I grew up in Montpelier, Ohio – outside of Toledo. I lived in Tiffin, Ohio, during college (Heidelberg University) and then moved to Cleveland after graduation and stayed for 8 years. I spent 14 years in Monroe, Michigan – just south of Detroit, and then moved to Dayton in 2014.

 

  1. Who are your favorite all-time baseball players?

I grew up as a Reds fan in the late 70s, so….Pete Rose, obviously. 4,256 Hits – Why isn’t that guy in the HOF?!?! I loved every member of the Big Red Machine. When I got married and moved to Cleveland in 1993, it was the dawn of the Jacob’s Field era and 456 consecutive Indians home sellouts. Tribe fever was everywhere and I couldn’t escape it. Owner Dick Jacobs was a member at my club and I was able to meet a number of the players. My favorite – Omar Vizquel, followed closely by: Carlos Baerga, Albert Belle, Sandy Alomar and Roberto Alomar. Those teams in the mid-90’s were never out of a game until 3 outs in the ninth…averaged over 7 runs a game and had a ridiculous number of last at-bat wins. Oh, the good ole days 🙂

 

  1. Do you have any sports-related items on your bucket list that you have not yet done?

Attend an Indians WS game; Watch the Browns in a super bowl (fat chance); play golf at Augusta National.

 

  1. What is your favorite WIS moment?

Easy, winning my only WS title with the Steel Ponies way back in S9. Seems like I’ve had a lot of better teams since then, but never won again. Least favorite? Spring training…each season. I would be happy if spring training was simulated over the course of just a day or two, with the ability to focus on different areas of development for different players. Work on stamina to stretch out a SP…work on defensive drills to improve outfielders’ defense, take BP and work on batting drills to improve certain players, etc. Then, assign a certain % of playing time to get them fresh or work harder on development for younger players…run the simulation…see the ratings improvements (if any) and start the season!

 

  1. Do you have any favorite players from any of your HBD teams?

FYC HOFer, Spud Fischer. Only player I’ve ever had that I wouldn’t even entertain a conversation about trading. Started the process of turning the team around when he was drafted #2 overall in S5. Was a major reason the Ponies won the WS in S9 and went on to win 5 AL MVP. He’s like a member of the family. I send him a virtual card at the Holidays each season 🙂

 

  1. Why did you choose the city and/or park that you did?

Chose Toledo because I was living in Monroe, MI, at the time (about 30 minutes north of Toledo) and I grew up in NW Ohio not far from Toledo. Fifth Third Field where the Toledo Mud Hens play (interestingly, the Dayton Dragons have a Fifth Third Field also) is a great park and a lot of fun to watch a game there. (My only other HBD franchise, the Honolulu Wave Runners, were chosen because Hawai’i is my favorite vacation destination…I mean, who doesn’t love Hawai’i?!)

 

It’s been a super-fun 36 seasons in FYC…looking forward to S37.

Leave a Reply

