Owner Interview – bfhendricks

The second owner up in our Owner Interview Series is another FYC original, bfhendricks. His Boston Beaver Poachers were quite the powerhouse when I joined up back in S24 and some of those players, especially the ones mentioned below, are still making their mark at the ML level some 12 seasons later. Now it’s time to get to know the man behind that machine:

 

  1. Who is bfhendricks in real life?

In real life, I answer to Ben. I work for a large data and analytics company where I manage global PR and Social Media. I’ve been married for about 5 years, have a 3-year old son and a baby girl on the way.

 

  1. Where do you live and/or where have you previously lived?

Grew up around Charlotte but moved to Boston in 2006. Once my wife and I started a family, we decided to move back to Indiana, where she’s from. Been in Indianapolis for nearly a year now.

 

  1. Who are your favorite all-time baseball players?

Growing up in Charlotte, it was tough to have “a team.” I followed players much more than teams. Favorites were Walt Weiss, Will Clark, Shawon Dunston, Mark Grace and Andre Dawson.

 

  1. Do you have any sports-related items on your bucket list that you have not yet done?

My first jobs out of college allowed me to travel and catch a lot of awesome sporting events. I’ve seen a Final Four, though not with my team (Go Heels), so that would be high on the list.

 

  1. What is your favorite WIS moment? Least favorite?

I play in three leagues that I care about. This one, and two URAPP leagues (ultimate random as possible progressive). One URAPP is a sim baseball league where I’ve won one title, and the other is an NBA league where I’ve won one. Obviously the titles are my favorite part. My least favorites are the teams that I think should have been better and run into a juggernaut in the playoffs.

 

  1. Do you have any favorite players from any of your HBD teams?

Tommy Coggin is my all time favorite, hands down. I also hold a special place in my heart for Peter Suzuki and Neifi Astacio.

 

  1. Why did you choose the city and/or park that you did?

In spring of 2006, I was set to leave Charlotte for a move to Boston. Who knew that a decade later I would have moved to Boston, married, started a family and left Boston. It doesn’t matter where I live though, I’ll always be a Beaver Poacher in my heart.

Leave a Reply

